Log in Sign up
Photostart: Opening Night - Term 4 2015

On Thursday 3 December we opened our final instalment of Photostart for 2016. This student show was different from the norm. Instead of the usual student show running solo downstairs as we prepare to open our latest season of exhibitions, this show headed upstairs to our Social Gallery and ran throughout the last week of our acclaimed analogue exhibition The Alchemists. Featuring selected works from our Term 4 2015 students, Photostart this term encompassed new courses such as Fashion Photography with Cybele Malinowski and Introduction to Lighting with Geoff McGeachin. Other fantastic works were included from Street Photography, Black & White: Print, Camera Craft 1, 2, & 3, and DSLR for Beginners. 

The night's proceedings were opened by ACP Interim Director, Catherine Baldwin and prizes were awarded by ACP tutor, Michael Waite. Whilst there was no Instagram documentation from Michael this time round, we had live music photographer Maclay Heriot document the festivities. A huge thanks to the generous support of the wonderful team from C.R. Kennedy who provide ACP with ILFORD's exhibition quality paper for our students shows, and to 4 Pines who always make sure we are refreshed with their delicious range of beverages.

Congratulations to all the evening's prize winners and thanks to all our students for continuing to amaze us with their dedication and creativity.

ACP's Term 1 2016 course will run from our 257 Oxford St location. 

Merry Christmas and see you all again in the New Year!


First Prize: Jay Taylor Zaine | Fashion Photography with Cybele Malinowski

Second Prize: John Gillespie | Street Photography

Highly Commended: Adam North | Fashion Photography with Cybele Malinowski

Staff Pick: Gerard Azar | Photoshop for Beginners



Image 1: Courtesy and © Maclay Heriot, 2015.

Image 2: Courtesy and © Maclay Heriot, 2015.

Image 3: Courtesy and © Maclay Heriot, 2015. 

Image 4: Courtesy and © Maclay Heriot, 2015.

Image 5: © Jay Talyor Zaine, 2015.

Image 6: © John Gillespie, 2015.

Image 7: © Adam North, 2015.

Image 8: © Gerard Azar, 2015.