Log in Sign up
Entries for the 2017 UNAA Media Awards now open!

The Media Awards is a prestigious National Awards Program that recognises those journalists, producers and editors, who seek to promote understanding and awareness about humanitarian and social justice issues in our society and stimulate public debate. In 2017, the Media Awards will also be a key feature of the UNAA’s work to promote achievement of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Each category will address one or more of the SDGs. 

Journalists and producers whose work has appeared in the Australian media between 2 September 2016 and 5 September 2017 are encouraged to enter now.

Entries are invited from all states and territories in Australia. Entries opened on Monday July 3 and will close on Tuesday September 5, 2017 5pm. Entries submitted by July 31 will receive the early bird discount. 

The Award categories include:

  • Best Print/Written (includes online articles)
  • Best Photojournalism
  • Best Radio
    - News (less than 10 minutes)
    - Documentary (more than 10 minutes)
  • Best Television 
    - News/Current Affairs (less than 20 minutes)
    - Feature/Documentary (more than 20 minutes)
  • Best Online
  • Promotion of Indigenous Rights and Issues
  • Promotion of Social Cohesion
  • Promotion of Empowerment of Older People
  • Promotion of Gender Equality: Empowerment of Women and Girls
  • Promotion of Children's Rights and Issues
  • Promotion of Disability Rights and Issues

Winners of the 2017 Media Awards will be announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner to be held on Friday October 27 in Melbourne.   

Entries Close: 5 September 2017 at 5pm.
More information here